AI, Cognitive Semantics , Computational Linguistics and Logics

 

Special Track at The 24th International FLAIRS Conference

In cooperation with the American Association for Artificial Intelligence

Palm Beach, Florida, USA

 

 

Co-chairs:

Ismail Biskri, Université de Québec à Trois Rivières, Canada, Ismail.Biskri@uqtr.ca

Florence Le Priol, Université Paris-Sorbonne, France, florence.le_priol@paris-sorbonne.fr

Roger Nkambou, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada, nkambou.roger@uqam.ca

Anca Pascu, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, Anca.Pascu@univ-brest.fr

 

 

 

*      Call for Papers

*      Invited Speakers

*      Submission Guidelines

*      Important Dates

*      Conference Proceedings

*      Organizing Committee

*      Program Committee

*      Further Information

 

Call for Papers

Traditionally, the study of computational linguistics has been performed by computer scientists, specializing in the application of computers to the processing of a natural language.

Today, computational linguists often work as members of interdisciplinary teams, including linguists (specifically trained in linguistics), language experts (persons with some level of ability in the languages relevant to a given project), and computer scientists. In general, computational linguistics draws upon the involvement of linguists, computer scientists, experts in artificial intelligence, mathematicians, logicians, cognitive scientists, cognitive psychologists, psycholinguists, anthropologists and neuroscientists, among others.

Computational linguistics must become more connected to the cognitive sciences through the development of cognitive semantic theories. Computational linguistics is connected to artificial intelligence through the development of methods and algorithms for all aspects of language analysis and their computer implementation. We can see language analysis divided into two parts: theoretical analysis and application. The theoretical aspect includes standard areas studied in linguistics: semantics, syntax, and morphology. Semantic theories guide the development of syntactic theories and morphology. Semantic theories can be based on some specific features of computation, but at the present stage of research, there is a gap between linguistic analysis and computer applications in two senses: there are many computer applications without linguistic theoretical support and, conversely, there are a number of theoretical methods with no computer implementation. Another epistemological feature of the present stage of research is that most computational linguistic methods are focused on statistical approaches. The advantage of these methods is that they are easy to apply but the drawback is that they distort the qualitative and genuine cognitive features of language.

The goal of this track is to provide an international forum for discussing the latest approaches in subfields of computational linguistics related to cognitive semantics and to artificial intelligence. Its aim is also to exchange ideas concerning the way of building efficient systems of language analysis based on cognitive semantic models.

Its mission is to prove the increase of interaction between modeling in cognitive semantics and computer implementation: a good system analysis requires a good semantic model as framework. On the other hand, the need for semantic models other than those based on statistical methods has to be proved.

 

This track is intended to present works ranking from logical and mathematical models in syntax and semantics (logic of objects, topological theories of time and space etc.) as foundations of the design and analysis to natural language processing systems.

 

Papers and contributions are encouraged for any work relating to AI, Cognitive Semantics,  Computational Linguistics and Logics. Topics of interest may include (but are in no way limited to)

 

1. Cognitive semantics,

2. Logics of language,

3. Language modeling,

4. Computational linguistics (lexicology; morphology; syntax; semantics).

 

Note: We invite original papers (i.e. work not previously submitted, in submission, or to be submitted to another conference during the reviewing process).

 

 

Invited Speakers

Professor Daniel Vanderveken, Department of Philosophy, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Canada

 

 

Submission Guidelines

Interested authors should format their papers according to AAAI formatting guidelines. The papers should be original work (i.e., not submitted, in submission, or submitted to another conference while in review). Papers should not exceed 6 pages (2 pages for a poster) and are due by November 22nd, 2010. For FLAIRS-24, the 2011 conference, the reviewing is a double blind process. Fake author names and affiliations must be used on submitted papers to provide double-blind reviewing. Papers must be submitted as PDF through the EasyChair conference system, which can be accessed through the main conference web site (http://www.flairs-24.info/). Note: do not use a fake name for your EasyChair login - your EasyChair account information is hidden from reviewers. Authors should indicate the AI, Cognitive Semantics, Computational Linguistics and Logics special track for submissions. The proceedings of FLAIRS will be published by the AAAI. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign a form transferring copyright of their contribution to AAAI. FLAIRS requires that there be at least one full author registration per paper.

 

Special Tracks Organizers

Please, check the website http://www.flairs-24.info/ for further information.

 

 

Important Dates

Conference: May 18th – 20th, 2011

Paper submission deadline: November 22nd, 2010.

Notifications: January 21st, 2011.

Camera ready version due: February 21st, 2011

 

 

Conference Proceedings

Papers will be refereed and all accepted papers will appear in the conference proceedings, which will be published by AAAI Press.  

 

Organizing Committee

Ismail Biskri, Universite de Québec à Trois Rivières, Canada, Ismail.Biskri@uqtr.ca

Florence Le Priol, Université de Paris-Sorbonne, France, flepriol@paris4.sorbonne.fr

Roger Nkambou, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada, nkambou.roger@uqam.ca

Anca Pascu, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, Anca.Pascu@univ-brest.fr

 

Program Committee

Maryvonne Abraham, Institut TELECOM, TELECOM-Bretagne, France, Maryvonne.Abraham@enst-bretagne.fr

David Banks, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, David.Banks@univ-brest.fr

Ismail Biskri (co-chair), Universite de Québec à Trois Rivières, Canada, Ismail.Biskri@uqtr.ca

Alex Borgida, Rutgers University, borgida@cs.rutgers.edu

Walter Carnielli, University of Campinas, Brazil, carniell@cle.unicamp.br

François-Gilles Carpentier, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, Francois.Carpentier@univ-brest.fr

Fintan Costello, University College Dublin, Ireland, . fintan.costello@ucd.ie

Dan Cristea, University of Iasi, Romania, dcristea@info.uaic.ro

Richard Dapoigny, Université de Savoie, France, richard.dapoigny@univ-savoie.fr

Jean-Pierre Desclés, Université de Paris-Sorbonne, France, Jean-pierre.Descles@paris-sorbonne.fr

Brahim Djioua, Université Paris-Sorbonne, France, Brahim.Djioua@paris-sorbonne.fr

Kathelijne Denturck, Ecole de Traduction et d'Interprétation, Haute Ecole de Gand, Belgium, kathelijne.denturck@hogent.be

Rim Faiz, IHEC de Carthage, Université du 7 novembre à Carthage, Tunisia, Rim.Faiz@ihec.mu.tn

Boris Galitsky, Knowledge Trail, MA, USA, bgalitsky@hotmail.com

Vera Goodacre, George Mason University, USA, vgoodacr@gmu.edu

Zlatka Guentchéva, CNRS, France, guentche@vjf.cnrs.fr

Ewa Gwiazdecka, Universiy of Warsawa, Poland, ewa.gwiazdecka@gmail.com

Susan Haller, University of Wisconsin, USA, hallersm@potsdam.edu

Eva Hajiova, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic, hajicova@ufal.mff.cuni.cz

Adel Jebali, University Concordia, Montreal, Canada, jebali.adel@gmail.com

Klara Ladji, University of Tirana, Albania, klagji@hotmail.com

Guy Lapalme, Université de Montréal, Canada, lapalme@iro.umontreal.ca

Peter Lazarov, Université de Sofia, Bulgaria, Petar.Lazarov@ec.europa.eu

Florence Le Priol (co-chair), Université de Paris-Sorbonne, France, florence.le_priol@paris-sorbonne.fr

Jean-Guy Meunier, Université de Québec à Montréal,Canada, meunier.jean-guy@uqam.ca

Ghassan Mourad, Université de Beyrouth, Lebanon, Ghassan.Mourad@paris-sorbonne.fr

Roger Nkambou (co-chair), Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada, nkambou.roger@uqam.ca

Anca Pascu (co-chair), Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, Anca.Pascu@univ-brest.fr

Patrice Pognan, INALCO, Paris, France, mcertal@wanadoo.fr

James Pustejovsky, Brandeis University, USA, jamesp@cs.brandeis.edu

Gilles Richard, British Institute of Technology & E-commerce, London, UK, richard@irit.fr

Christophe Roche, Université de Savoie, France, Christophe.Roche@univ-savoie.fr

Benoît Sauzay, France TELECOM, benoit.sauzay@orange-ftgroup.com

Jong-Seok Soh, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Seoul, Korea, sjs_cog@yahoo.co.kr

Jungyeon Suh, Seoul Women's University, Seoul, Korea, alasseur13@yahoo.fr

Jana Sukkariek, ETS, USA, JSukkarieh@ETS.ORG

Geoffrey Williams, Université de Bretagne Sud, Vannes, France, geoffrey.williams@univ-ubs.fr

 

Further Information

·         Questions regarding the AI, Cognitive Semantics , Computational Linguistics and Logics Special Track should be addressed to the track co-chairs:

 

Ismail Biskri, Université de Québec à Trois Rivières, Canada.

Florence Le Priol, Université Paris-Sorbonne, France.

Roger Nkambou, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada.

Anca Pascu, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France.

 

·         Questions regarding Special Tracks should be addressed to Chutima Boonthum, chutima.boonthum@gmail.com

 

Conference Chair:

Hans Guesgen, Massey University, New Zealand

Local Arrangements Chair:

Geoff Sutcliffe, University of Miami, USA

Program Co-Chairs:

Philip McCarthy, The University of Memphis, USA

Chas Murray, Carnegie Learning, USA

Special Tracks Coordinator:

Chutima Boonthum, Hampton University, USA